Appointments, Expectations, and Policies

The Student Advising office is located in Matthews Hall, Room 105.

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Phone: 940-565-2736

Individual advising appointments for current undergraduate students are made up to two weeks in advance. Post-baccalaureate and graduate students are advised by the students’ program coordinator or designated faculty.

Current undergraduate students in the College of Education should visit appointments.unt.edu to schedule an appointment.

Current undergraduate students with a secondary education minor need to call the Student Advising Office at (940) 565-2736 to schedule an appointment. Only students that have participated in an information session through EDCI (formerly, EDSE) 3800 or have viewed the secondary and all-level teacher certification video may schedule an appointment.

Current undergraduate students interested in changing major to the College of Education need to call the Student Advising Office at (940) 565-2736 to schedule an appointment.

Available at limited times through the semester, same-day walk-in appointments can be scheduled at appointments.unt.edu. Students may reserve a walk-in appointment beginning at 8:00 a.m. the day of walk-ins.

Interdisciplinary Advising Team

Philippe Becerra (team leader) | philippe.becerra@unt.edu
Victor Brewer | victor.brewer@unt.edu
Katie.Johnston | katie.johnston@unt.edu
Kacey Cousins | kacey.cousins@unt.edu

Multidisciplinary Advising Team

Nola Moudry (team leader) | nola.moudry@unt.edu
Amy Tannehill | amy.tannehill@unt.edu
D'Lynn Schertz | dlynn.schertz@unt.edu
Paul Galloway | paul.galloway@unt.edu

TExES Advising Team

Jessica Powell | Jessica.Powell@unt.edu
Jeanie McMahan | Jeanie.McMahan@unt.edu

           

Advising Expectation and Policy

All admitted undergraduate students are encouraged to visit with an advisor to develop their degree plans and discuss their path to academic success. 

Advisors can provide direction with:

  • Academic Planning
  • Course Selection
  • Major & Degree Requirements
  • Dropping/Adding Classes
  • Setting up your Degree Plan
  • Graduation Checking
  • Registration
  • Campus Resource Referral

Required Advising

Any First Time in College Student or student with an "Advising Required" or "TSI not complete" hold in their student center is required to make an appointment to meet with an academic advisor prior to registration.

Expectations of Students in Preparation for your Advising Appointment

  1. Review your documents and information on the Student Advising Website 
  2. Review your major degree planning sheet.
  3. Review course options, schedules, rotations, and pre-requisites.
  4. Review and run your online audit as it is a useful tool to see grades, gpa and coursework.
  5. Bring your list of questions and bring any documents that you want to discuss.  
  6. Be on time for your appointment and if you can’t make it, call and cancel.

Appointment Policies

  • Advising sessions are made by appointment from 8:30 am - 4:00 pm and appointments are booked up to two weeks in advance.
  • Walk-ins hours are scheduled at strategic times throughout the year and the dates and times are posted on the SAO website.
  • Appointments are scheduled for 30 minutes. Students are welcome to book double appointments or additional time. Please let the desk staff know your request when scheduling an appointment.
  • If you are more than 14 minutes late to your advising appointment, you will be asked to reschedule your appointment.