TEA department sweeps Eagle Feather awards, takes Dept. of the Year

EFThree Teacher Education & Administration (TEA) alumni, Coeli Small ('13), Enid Ortez ('13), and Kaitlyn Pound ('13), were recognized with first, second, and third place awards for their research papers in April 2013 for the Honors College Scholars Day. Their papers have been published in The Eagle Feather this fall.

In recent years, a dozen students from the College of Education have been published in The Eagle Feather, an interdisciplinary undergraduate research journal for students at the University of North Texas produced by UNT's Honors College. The journal provides a publishing opportunity for student researchers and showcases UNT students' work.

To recognize the department's success, the Honors College awarded The Eagle Feather's Department of the Year award to the College of Education's department of Teacher Education and Administration at a special awards ceremony on October 1, 2013.

"We are very proud of our student authors for publishing their work, and of Dr. Jeanne Tunks, who has for years mentored our students in their writing," said Nancy Nelson, department chair and professor, at the ceremony.

Dr. Jeanne Tunks, associate professor in TEA, mentors select students each semester through research that is important to them as scholars. One form of research is the Action Research Project, a process of conducting research in an authentic setting that leads to an action for changing a specific practice. Students then write an academic paper about the project and submit those papers for consideration in The Eagle Feather.

"It opens the door to possibility and teaches these students how to conduct action research in the classroom. It plants a seed in them, telling them that they can do this," said Tunks.

"What we are doing is preparing our students to be lifelong researchers in the field, gathering data and not being afraid to question the world around them," she said. "I think that is very important."