Recent faculty awards & achievements

Barrio Minton receives Distinguished Achievement Award from St. Norbert College

Casey Barrio Minton recently received the Distinguished Achievement Award from her undergraduate alma mater, St. Norbert College in DePere, WI. Watch her acceptance speech to learn more about the role of her undergraduate experience in her professional and personal development.

Cannella's book receives Critics Choice Award

Gaile Cannella's Critical Qualitative Research Reader was listed as one of the 2012 Critics Choice Books by the American Educational Studies Association (AESA). Her book was nominated by a member of the organization and was reviewed by a committee of AESA members for consideration for the award. Her work was cited for its contribution to scholarship in the Social Foundations of Education field. A ceremony to honor all recipients was held at the AESA annual meeting in October 2012 in Seattle, Washington.

Kettler recognized by TAGT for efforts in advocacy for gifted education

Todd Kettler was named 2012 State Advocate for the Gifted by the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented in recognition of his outstanding service, contribution, and commitment to gifted education. He was honored at their annual convention last December in Dallas.

Revelle discusses Holocaust with National Writing Project

NWP Radio interviewed Carol Revelle about the Holocaust Memorial Library, her experience with the Holocaust Institute, integration of Holocaust texts into her 4-8 Content Literacy course, and the importance of bringing social justice issues to classrooms. Listen to the show online.

Subramaniam named to ASTE publication editorial board

Karthigeyan Subramaniam was appointed to the editorial board of Journal of Science Teacher Education, the flagship publication of the Association for Science Teacher Education. It serves as a forum for disseminating high quality research and theoretical position papers concerning the preparation and inservice education of teachers of science. Subramaniam will serve on the editorial review board through December 2015.