Mehta selected as UNT nominee for state-wide award

MehtaThe UNT Faculty Awards Committee voted to recommend Smita Mehta, Associate Professor of Special Education in the Department of Educational Psychology, to President Neal Smatresk as the sole UNT nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Award.

This state-wide award honors 10 professors each year for their dedication to teaching and for their outstanding academic, scientific and scholarly achievements. Honorees will be awarded certificates naming them "Piper Professors of 2015," together with cash honoraria of $5,000 each and a gold commemorative pin.

"I feel very honored and humbled that my colleagues as well as current and former students thought me worthy of this award. I am very passionate about teaching and it is good to know that private foundations in Texas ascribe high value to effective teaching." said Mehta.

The official announcement of the Piper honorees will be made May 1, 2015.

Give Now

Strengthen the college. Our noteworthy accomplishments, scholarships and programs are supported by generous donations from friends like you. Please make your gift to the college today or contact Keturi Beatty (940-891-6860) to learn more about giving opportunities. Thank you!

For media inquiries, please contact Ellen Rossetti (940-369-7912).