College News

COE faculty member featured on WFAA News 8 Daybreak

WFAA coverageMiriam Boesch, assistant professor of Educational Psychology in the UNT College of Education, appeared on WFAA News 8 Daybreak Saturday, July 25, to discuss intervention strategies parents and educators can use when working with children on the autism spectrum.

Royce George receives the OCA Award

Royce George, UNT Senior Lecturer in Educational Leadership, was selected for the 2015 Exemplary Online Teacher & Course Award for his class on theories of organizational development and reform.

The award is given every year by the Center for Learning Enhancement, Assessment, and Redesign (CLEAR) to acknowledge UNT faculty that design and teach outstanding online courses.

Accepting the invitation: the start of two Gates Millennium Scholars

Nydia Sánchez, Flor De La Garza, Amira SpikesFrom Left: Nydia Sánchez, Flor De La Garza, Amira Spikes

Accepting assistance for applications can uncover unexpected avenues; such is the case for Amira Spikes and Flor De La Garza, who will be beginning their college careers as Gates

Ashleigh Krastin receives KDP Distinguished Chapter Officer Award

Ashleigh Krastin was recently selected as a recipient of the Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) Distinguished Chapter Officer Award. The award is presented to only a few of the more than 3,000 current and immediate past KDP officers across the United States.

Abbie Strunc to begin her professorship

UNT College of Education Alumna Abbie Strunc recently accepted a tenure track position at Texas A&M – Texarkana. She will be taking the position of assistant professor of education and will teach undergraduate courses on teacher education.

Strunc was chosen partly for her social studies background and experience as a classroom teacher. She taught in a North Texas high school for 11 years, which included teaching full time as she pursued her doctorate.

Mayra Olivares-Urueta enters NCCHC Leadership Fellows Program

Doctoral Alumna Mayra Olivares-Urueta was selected to join the 2015 class of the National Community College Hispanic Council (NCCHC) Leadership Fellows Program. The program is designed to address the lack of Hispanic leaders in American community colleges.

Retired founder of UNT Center for Play Therapy continuing to further the field

Garry Landreth, retired founder of the UNT Center for Play Therapy, was featured in a story for the Arkansas Online newspaper for his role in pioneering the field of play therapy and his continuing engagement in the field. At a recent workshop at St.

Substitute teaching to ease the pain of cancer

Student-Teacher Krixia Funa

The week before Kristi Singley's kindergarten class had a trip to Fort Worth Zoo, she contacted student-teacher Krixia Funa.

UNT alum becomes LISD superintendent

Kevin Rogers, alumni of UNT’s College of Education, officially began his position as the new Lewisville Independent School District (LISD) superintendent on May 19. Rogers was named interim superintendent in December 2014 by unanimous decision and was named lone finalist for the superintendent of schools position last month.

As superintendent, Rogers will be responsible for supporting the daily functions of the LISD’s 69 campuses. LISD, as the largest employer in Denton County, has 7,000 employees and serves 53,000 students.

Syndicate content