College honors alumni at Homecoming tailgate party

The College of Education hosted its annual Homecoming tailgate in November to celebrate the accomplishments of our distinguished alumni and welcome all of our alumni back to campus.

Each year, we honor our alumni who have been named Teacher, Principal or Superintendent of the Year by local school districts.

During the 2012-2013 academic year, forty local College of Education alumni received these prestigious awards. We invited all of them to join us for Homecoming festivities, and those who did were recognized by Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Research Mike Sayler in a special presentation.

Sayler also recognized the family of the late Jim Cooper, who was inducted into the UNT Athletics Hall of Fame this year. Cooper played in the first bowl game in school history and was even the first UNT player to be drafted into the NFL. The Jim Cooper Memorial Coaching Scholarship was awarded for the first time this year and will continue to support students in the College of Education’s Department of Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation for many years to come.

During the Mean Green football game, our outstanding alumni were announced to the crowd and special recognition was given to Bilingual Teacher of the Year Amy Molina (’07) from Denton ISD, Principal of the Year Jennifer Mattingly (’96) from Lewisville ISD, and Superintendent of the Year Kent Crutsinger  (’96) from Sanger ISD, who all went out on the field with Sayler and UNT’s President V. Lane Rawlins.

Thank you to all of our alumni and supporters who stopped by the tent and brought your friends and families by to celebrate UNT Homecoming. To stay in touch with the College of Education, sign up for our newsletter or send us an email about your career and accomplishments.

Photos by Gloria Chen


 Above: Senior Associate Dean Dr. Mike Sayler (far right) with COE alumni award winners.


 Above: Senior Associate Dean Dr. Mike Sayler (left) with family of UNT Athletics Hall of Fame inductee Jim Cooper