College gathers superintendents for evening of appreciation


Above: Dr. Mike Moses addresses the group at the reception for superintendents on August 8, 2013 at Apogee Stadium.

On August 8, 2013, current and retired superintendents from the North Texas region gathered at UNT's Apogee Stadium for a special reception. The College of Education brought together this group of education leaders to thank them for their contributions to public education and partnership with the university.

The featured speaker for the evening was Dr. Mike Moses, who joined the UNT faculty in 2012 as the Moses Endowed Chair of Educational Administration, which bears his name. He has served as a Texas educator and leader for more than 30 years. From 1995 to 1999, he was the Commissioner of Education for the state of Texas. He served as Deputy Chancellor for Systems Operations at Texas Tech University System from 1999 to 2001 and as General Superintendent of the Dallas Independent School District from 2001 until 2004. Prior to his position in Dallas, Dr. Moses was the superintendent of schools in other Texas school districts, including Lubbock, LaMarque, and Tatum. Currently he serves as Senior Educational Advisor for Raise Your Hand Texas and the Center for Reform of School Systems. His bachelor's degree and master's degrees are from Stephen F. Austin State University, and his doctoral degree is from Texas A&M University at Commerce.

At the close of the evening, UNT's Athletics Director, Rick Villareal, took the guests on a VIP tour of Apogee Stadium.

The event was co-hosted by Dr. Cathy Bryce ('91), former Superintendent of Highland Park ISD, Dr. Stephen Waddell ('75, '96), Superintendent of Lewisville ISD, Dr. Jamie Wilson ('91, '99, '12), Superintendent of Denton ISD and Dr. Jerry Thomas, Dean of UNT's College of Education.