COE honors its own during UNT Faculty Excellence Week

By Raquel Talamantes

award recipients with plaques

From left, Barrett Taylor, Dean Randy Bomer, Smita Mehta and Uyen Tran-Parsons. Not pictured, Miriam Boesch and Kelley King.

The UNT College of Education honored six faculty members at the annual Faculty Salute event Oct. 19. The COE Faculty Excellence Awards are given each year to faculty members who show outstanding work in their fields. This year’s winners are:

Junior Faculty Research Award
Barrett Taylor, Counseling and Higher Education
Taylor teaches graduate-level courses focusing on administration and finance. His research emphasizes the ways in which colleges and universities interact with their environments.

Research Award
Smita Mehta, Educational Psychology
Mehta’s research focuses on functional behavioral assessment and positive behavior support for individuals with developmental disabilities, analysis of the effect of teacher behavior on student performance, classroom management and instructional strategies, and inclusive education and support.

Lecturer Award
Uyen Tran-Parsons, Counseling and Higher Education
Tran-Parsons, a senior lecturer, teaches topics such as Student Demographics, Cultural Pluralism, History and Philosophy of Higher Education, Finance and Budgeting in Higher Education, Student Affairs Programing Administration, Assessment in Student Affairs, Foundations of Student Development Administration, Organization and Administration, and Risk Management in Higher Education.

Teaching Award
Miriam Boesch, Educational Psychology
Boesch focuses on teaching and learning how technology can increase communication skills in children and adolescents with autism spectrum disorders.

Service Award
Kelley King, Teacher Education and Administration
King focuses her service on understanding teaching and learning as culturally situated activities. Her work explores the ways that class, gender, culture and politics have shaped and still influence education in the United States.

The college’s event was part of the university’s Salute to Faculty Excellence Week. Two COE faculty members were honored at the universitywide celebration Oct. 20.

UNT Foundation Outstanding Lecturer Award:
Rossana Boyd, Teacher Education and Administration
Boyd, a native of Honduras and principal lecturer, focuses her teaching, research and work in bilingual and ESL education. She has worked as a state ESL/bilingual education director and as a professional developer, coordinator, instructor, director and grant manager of programs related to teacher preparation in ESL, bilingual education and alternative certification.

President’s Council Teaching Award:

Carol Wickstrom, Teacher Education and Administration
Wickstrom teaches literacy courses at the graduate and undergraduate level in the Language, Literacy, Bilingual and ESL Program. As director of the North Star of Texas Writing Project, she studies Culturally Mediated Writing Instruction in grades 6-12 English/Language Arts classrooms and supports teachers in these classrooms in their own teacher research.

Information taken from Faculty Profile pages provided by UNT.