COE Faculty members to serve as NextGen scholars

The Office of the Provost and the Center for Learning Enhancement, Assessment, and Redesign welcomed four COE faculty members into the Next Generation Course Redesign Community of Scholars for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Kim Baker, Lecturer in Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation, Dr. M. Jean Keller, Professor in Kinesiology, Health Promotion & Recreation and Special Assistant to the Vice Chancellor, Laura Walker, Lecturer in Kinesiology, Health Promotion and Recreation, and Dr. Carol D. Wickstrom, Associate Professor in Teacher Education and Administration will help make learning better for students, infuse their courses with innovative instruction, and help UNT meet its Four Bold Goals.

UNT has been nationally recognized for its engagement of faculty in transforming the student learning experience in large enrollment undergraduate courses through the NextGen Course Redesign Program since 2006. To date, thirty-four large undergraduate courses serving well over 20,000 UNT students have been redesigned to increase student engagement and promote cognitive development; target higher level student learning outcomes which emphasize deep versus surface learning; and enable students to learn through experience in challenging and diverse learning environments.