COE Educational Psychology faculty member selected as University Distinguished Teaching Professor

Dr. Henson

By Mary Murphy

Robin K. Henson, professor of Educational Psychology in the UNT College of Education, was recently selected as a University Distinguished Teaching Professor.

The University Distinguished Teaching Professor award recognizes tenured faculty members who have exemplified outstanding teaching and who promote exceptional teaching among their colleagues at UNT. Each year, up to five of these awards are distributed to tenured faculty. No more than five percent of UNT faculty can hold the appointment of University Distinguished Teaching Professor at any time.

"I am honored and humbled to receive this appointment. We have so many great teachers at UNT, so it means a great deal to me," Henson said. "I have been privileged to be able to learn from and model other outstanding teachers at different points in my career, as well as from many extremely bright graduate students who challenge me. This appointment has as much to do with their influences as anything else."

Henson teaches graduate-level Educational Psychology courses focusing mainly on statistics and research methods in education. According to Henson, his favorite course to teach is EPSY 6210 – Multiple Regression and Related Methods.

"This is a class where you are able to really see students from lots of different major areas grow in their understanding of what statistics can do and how our methods are all connected in certain ways," Henson said. "The conceptual understanding is exciting to see because of how it empowers students to not only conduct their own analyses, but also understand and interpret them as well."

Henson said it's fun for him to watch students grow in their understanding and usage of statistics and methods. Helping graduate students think analytically and conceptually about methods is especially enjoyable, he said.

Henson, as well as other professors who have been selected as University Distinguished Teaching Professors, will be recognized for their achievement this fall at the annual Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony.