Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education


Join us and support the Dr. Ron W. Wilhelm-Kappa Delta Pi Scholarship. Our goal is to raise $25,000. Once reached, every year a deserving student in the Alpha Iota Chapter will receive a $1000 scholarship. To contribute please visit the site for the Wilhelm Scholarship Fund


The Award Winning Alpha Iota Chapter Celebrating 88 years of Excellence in Education is dedicated to sustaining an honored community of diverse educators by promoting excellence and advancing scholarship, leadership and service in global education.
The Society was founded in 1911 at the University of Illinois and has a long history of openness to men and women of different races, ethnic backgrounds, disabilities, ages, and a wide variety of intellectual ideas. As a community of scholars pledged to worthy ideals, KDP:
  • Recognizes scholarship and excellence in education;
  • Promotes the development and dissemination of worthy educational ideas and practices;
  • Enhances the continuous growth and leadership of its diverse membership;
  • Fosters inquiry and reflection on significant educational issues; and
  • Maintains a high degree of professional fellowship.
Alpha Iota Chapter was installed on January 23, 1926, at the North Texas State Teachers College, now the University of North Texas in Denton, Texas. The chapter has provided the Society with two presidents, Dr. A. Keith Turkett (B.S.Ed. '51, M.Ed. '52, and Ed.D. '59) and Dr. O. L. Davis, Jr. (B.A., '49 and M.Ed., '50). In 1994, Dr. Davis was elected to membership in the Society's Laureate Chapter of distinguished educators, and in 1999 he was honored as a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of  North Texas. Dr. Turkett was inducted in the inaugural class of the Eleanor Roosevelt Chapter in 2013.
*In 1990, Dr. Ron Wilhelm became Chapter counselor for the Alpha Iota Chapter and in 2011 he received the O.L. Davis, Jr. Counselor of Distinction Award. In 2013, he was inducted into the Society's Eleanor Roosevelt Chapter.
The Society recognized Alpha Iota Chapter in 1995 with the Local Chapter Activity Award and in 2005 with the ACE Program Award for Service. In 1997, 2001, 2009, 2011 and 2013 Alpha Iota earned the Society's prestigious recognition of the Achievement for Chapter Excellence (ACE) Award. 
 Friend us on Facebook and join OrgSync   
Invited to become a member? Complete the process by visiting the Membership page.
Interested in KDP National Scholarships
For suggestions, comments, questions regarding this site, please contact:  
Dr. Ricardo González-Carriedo Ricardo.Gonzalez@unt.edu or Dr. Jeanne Tunks Jeanne.Tunks@unt.edu



Cynthia Molina

Stephanie Camacho

Azurell Thomas

Pretti Love

Amy Emory

Adam Wear

Corey Doolittle