Advising Appointments, Expectations, and Policies

The Student Advising office is located in Matthews Hall, Room 105.

Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Phone: 940-565-2736 - For College of Education majors, and secondary education minors only.

Advising sessions by appointment only. Appointments may be scheduled up to 2 weeks in advance.

Group appointments for students wishing to change their major to a COE major and for Freshman ReFresh sessions can be booked by students at appointment.unt.edu.

Limited walk-in appointments may be available during specific periods. Students may reserve a spot during walk-ins at appointments.unt.edu starting at 8 am the day of walk-ins.

Interdisciplinary Advising Team

Philippe Becerra (team leader) | philippe.becerra@unt.edu
Victor Brewer | victor.brewer@unt.edu
Katie.Johnston | katie.johnston@unt.edu
Kacey Cousins | kacey.cousins@unt.edu

Multidisciplinary Advising Team

Nola Moudry (team leader) | nola.moudry@unt.edu
Amy Tannehill | amy.tannehill@unt.edu
D'Lynn Schertz | dlynn.schertz@unt.edu
Paul Galloway | paul.galloway@unt.edu

Collaborative Advisor

John Bellon | john.bellon@unt.edu

TExES Advising Team

Jessica Powell | Jessica.Powell@unt.edu

           

Advising Expectation and Policy

All admitted undergraduate students are encouraged to visit with an advisor to develop their degree plans and discuss their path to academic success. 

Advisors can provide direction with:

  • Academic Planning
  • Course Selection
  • Major & Degree Requirements
  • Dropping/Adding Classes
  • Setting up your Degree Plan
  • Graduation Checking
  • Registration
  • Campus Resource Referral

Required Advising

Any First Time in College Student or student with an "Advising Required" or "TSI not complete" hold in your student center is required to make an appointment to meet with an academic advisor prior to registration.

Expectations of Students in Preparation for your Advising Appointment

  1. Review your documents and information on the Student Advising Website 
  2. Review your major degree planning sheet.
  3. Review course options, schedules, rotations, and pre-requisites.
  4. Review and run your online audit as it is a useful tool to see grades, gpa and coursework.
  5. Bring your list of questions and bring any documents that you want to discuss.  
  6. Be on time for your appointment and if you can’t make it, call and cancel.

Appointment Policies

  • Advising sessions are made by appointment from 8:30-4:00   and appointments are booked up to two weeks in advance.
  • Walk-ins hours are scheduled three times/year prior to registration and the dates and times are posted on the SAO web and in the office.
  • Appointments are scheduled for 30 minutes. Students are welcome to book double appointments or additional time. Please let the desk staff know your request when scheduling an appointment.
  • If you are more than 15 minutes late to your advising appointment, you will be asked to reschedule your appointment.